Department of Physics

A journey towards excellence

Diamond Jubilee 2023

The department of physics was established in the year 1948 since the inception of the college. Professor A.A. V. Tankhiwale was the first Head of the department and Shri P. L. Mathurkar was the first head (lab technician) who were mainly responsible for the initial set up of the department along with the able guidance of professor Uma Das Mukherjee, the first Principal and Chief Visionary of this college. The postgraduate classes in physics were started in the year 1965. Professor V.K. Shrivastava was the first Head of the Department of Physics.

List of Heads

HOD NAME	YEAR
1. Dr. Vijendra Kumar Shrivastava	1951 to1955
2. Dr. P. C. Sethi	1955 to 1961
3. Dr. S.M. Krishanmurti	1961 to 1965
4.Dr.J.N. Das	1965 to 1973
5. Dr. P.V. Ratnam	1973 to 1981
6. Dr. P.C. Kmara	1981 to 1982
7. Dr. K .P. sarabhai	1982 to 1986
8. Dr. Mohammed Elyas	1986 to 1996
9. Dr. N.G. Deshmukh	1996 to 1998

10. Dr. K. K. Shrivastava	1998 to 2000
11. Dr. R.K . Sood	2000 to 2004
12. Dr. P.R. Tutkane	2004 to 2006
13. Dr. A.C. Biyani	2006 to 2008
14. Dr. A.K. Jaiswal	2008 to
2013	
15. Dr.S.K.Dubey	2013 to
2015	
16. Dr. Praveen kumar Dewangan	2015 to
2016	
17. Dr. Anjali Oudhia	2016 to Till Date

Prof. J.N. Das,



Prof. J.N. Das, a man with great vision and dynamism, a great administrator, teacher, and scientist took keen interest in creating quality research work in the department. During the period from 1967-1984, about 150 research papers were published under the guidance of Dr. J. N. Das and Dr. B.P.Chandra in the year 1989. Raipurians can never forget the herculean efforts put forth by Dr J N Das for setting up a telescope to view the historic Hailey Comet in 1984. Whole Raipur

turned up to witness the magnificent scenario it was registered as a historic event to ignite enthusiasm in common people towards science.

Dr. B. P. Chandra



- Declared as world's top 2% scientists by Stanford University.
- BP Chandra, known as Father of Mechano-Luminescence research in India
- FORMER vice chancellor, Pt RSU
- Post Fellowship at the University of California Government of India 1978
- Awarded with **DST-FIST** grant of **33,00,000 Lakhs**
- Published More than 200 Research papers
- D.Sc. by Rani Durgavati University, Jabalpur in 1992
- Founder Director-General, Prof. Chandra established the Chhattisgarh Council of Science and Technology, Raipur.

• Dr. B. Majumdar



- selected for the Young Scientist Award at the second Madhya Pradesh
 Young Scientist Congress help at Bhopal University Bhopal from Feb 28-2
 nd March 1987 sponsored by the Department of Science and Technology.
- Awarded with Post Doctroral Research Fellowship Ministry of Human Resource Development Government of India in 1989.
- International Panel of REFEREES AS REVIEWER Academic press in 1996 and 2001
- Member Royal Society of Chemistry London during the period 21-26 june
 1996

• Dr A.C. Biyani



Born on 18 June 1951, Did his graduation and Post graduation from Government Science College, Raipur. He joined this college as Assistant professor on 9 Sep.1974. He was the head of the department from 2006 to 2008. He was the most sot after teacher of physics in Raipur till today. A large number of his students were selected in IITs .He has authored four books for B .sc Classes.

- He has been in the National Physics Olympiad team as examiner, and problem writer since 2006 and still continuing,
- He has participated in 4 International Physics Olympiads.

- As a great Teacher and Mentor, he taught honorary in the PG classes even after his retirement for more than three years.
- He has donated AROUND 1 LAKH Rs for purchasing instruments for UG classes in the year 2017-18.



DEPARTMENT OF PHYSICS(G.N.S.C.)

DR. A.C. BIYANI

A STUDENT 1971 TO 1973 A FACULTY 1976 TO 2016



- HE IS THE BRAND AMBASSADOR OF OUR DEPARTMENT
- AN EXPERT OF NATIONAL / INTERNATIONAL PHYSICS OLYMPIAD.
- . AN ACADEMIC MENTOR OF OUR DEPARTMENT.
- VOLUNTARILY TAUGHT AFTER RETIREMENT.
- DONATED INSTRUMENTS WORTH ONE LAKH TO THE DEPARTMENT

TRUE GIVING FROM HEART IS AN EXPRESSION OF LOVE

The Present Team of Physics: Present HoD and ALL FACULTY MEMBERS



Dr Anjali Oudhia joined as Hod in the year 2016; she is heading the department till date. Under her headship the department has developed new vision & Mission which is totally **STUDENT CENTRIC**. The new **VISION** states

'To ignite enthusiasm and passion for physics through mentoring, knowledge sharing and bridging the gap between science and society'

Some major achievements (2016- till date):

Skill Training for PCB fabrication, , Hands on training on material modeling Industry Based projects by Students

UGC CSIR NET Mock Test, Invited Lectures and carrier counseling

(UCCHA SIHIKSHA SABKA ADHIKAR) released on you tube on 22 June 2017

Blog site Designed by Students

Mentoring Schools

HOSTING FIRST EVER INTERNATIONAL CONFERENCE ON LUMINESCENCE AND ITS APPLICATIONS (ICLA 2019)

INDUSTRY ACADEMIA COLLABORATION: CIPET Director and state head CITCON as Members in BoS,

ACADEMIC MOUS with SSTC, Bhilai, Kopal Vani, CITCON.

ALUMNI ENGAGEMENT IN SKILL TRAINING

NATIONAL SCENARIO: Students are performing and bringing laurels to the department on national platforms like National Graduate Physics Exam (NGPE), 'Vigyan Vidhushi, Vigyan Tarang (Gargi College N Delhi), NET, SET and PSc

OUTSTANDING STUDENTS:

Year	Name	Achievement
1958	Lalit Mohan Shrivastava	Prof. Phy
1958	Ratan Kumar Tandan	Prof. Phy /VC Pt RSU
1964	Ashok Kumar Sapre	Prof. Phy UTD
1969	Dr.B.P.Chandra	Prof. Phy , VC Pt RSU, Top 2% Scientist of the world declared by Stanford University.
1967	Dr.Gangadhar Sao	AD/Prof./Principal
1972	Vishesh Mohabey	Prof . Kalyan College
1973	Dr.A.C.Biyani	Prof and Head, Expert Physics Olympiod
1979	Vishnu Majumdar	AP, DST Project
1999	B.Verma	AP, GNSC

2000	Govaradhan Sahu	AP, Rajim Collegfe		
2009	Vinit Shukla	AP GEC		
1991	Dharmesh Sahu	IAS		
1995	Narayan Patel	PG Institute medical science Rohtek		
1975	R.C. Patel	IPS		
2014	Lochan Prasad	A P Physics		
2016	Ketki Parmanand	SET		
2017	Saraswati Chouhan	A P Physics		
2018	Devendra Kumar	CSIR- UGC NET 2021 and GATE 2022, State		
		Topper NGPE		
2018	Omesh Kumar	GATE 2022 and JEST 2022		
2018	Somesh Sahu GATE 2022.	GATE 2022		

















